Copyright Free & Resuable Images
Always observe copyright rules when reusing other's images.
Google's Advanced Image Search Options - Filter search results by usage rights. Click "Search Tools" and use the "Usage Rights" dropdown menu.
Yahoo Images Creative Commons - Select filters to refine search results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. After searching, click the gray arrow icon in the top left of the page and select "Labeled for Reuse" near the bottom of the menu.
MorgueFile - Photo collection that contains thousands of images that anyone can use for free in academic or commercial presentations. Searchable by subject category, image size, color, or rating.
Discovery Media - Log in to find images, video and more. If you need a username/password, email Ms. Reeves.
WorldImages - 75,000 images that teachers and student can use in academic projects. All images can be used under a Creative Common license that requires you to give proper attribution when necessary.
American Memory Project, Library of Congress - "a digital record of American history and creativity"
The Library of Congress: Digital Collections - Print, pictorial and audio-visual collections
Library of Congress Prints and Photograph Collection -- This site offers millions of digital images from the Prints and Photographs Division’s holdings including architecture, design and engineering, among other categories. A motherlode for US historical material, including Civil war photographs, cartoons, advertising, historical buildings, stereographic cards, and baseball cards.
Time LIFE Archive Online Millions of photographs from LIFE Magazine photo archive, 1750s to today
Antique Maps and Atlases - Fine and rare original antique maps, sea charts and atlases
Anatomia - 4,500+ illustrations of human anatomy
Creative Commons - Search for licensed for reuse
Flickr - Search for "no known copyright restrictions" (Use only from home.)
Far and Wide: the Golden Age of Travel Posters - Posters from the Golden Age of travel
Florida Memory Photographic Collection - 154,000+ photographs from the State Archives of Florida
Search the Catalog
Books In The Library
These are only a few of the books available in the library-encyclopedias are also available for your use. You can use the catalog to search for your specific topic.
Fredette, Nathalie, et al. Exploring the universe. Milwaukee : World Almanac Library, 2001.
Lunan, Duncan. Man and the planets : the resources of the solar system. Bath : Ashgrove Press, 1983.
Feredette, Nathalie, et al. The Solar system and the stars 21st century science. Milwaukee : World Almanac Library, 2001.
Ashby, Ruth. The outer planets. North Mankato, Minn. : Smart Apple Media, 2003.
Barron's ; Publisher. Planets and Satellites. Hauppauge, NY : Barron's Educational Series, 1992.
Bell, Trudy E. The inner planets. North Mankato, Minn. : Smart Apple Media, 2003.
The inner planets : Mercury, Venus, and Mars. New York : Britannica Educational Pub. in association with Rosen Educational Services, c2012.
Watters, Thomas R. Planets: Smithsonian guides. New York, NY : Macmillan USA, 1995.
Useful Databases and Links
Residents of the City of Los Angeles can get an e-Card by registering online. An e-Card provides access to online databases and downloadable e-media.You can also use the barcode number located on your LAPL library card.
Try searching using terms from your assignment and adding : .edu so that you'll get better, more appropriate results.