Copyright Free & Resuable Images
Always observe copyright rules when reusing other's images.
Google's Advanced Image Search Options - Filter search results by usage rights. Click "Search Tools" and use the "Usage Rights" dropdown menu.
Yahoo Images Creative Commons - Select filters to refine search results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. After searching, click the gray arrow icon in the top left of the page and select "Labeled for Reuse" near the bottom of the menu.
MorgueFile - Photo collection that contains thousands of images that anyone can use for free in academic or commercial presentations. Searchable by subject category, image size, color, or rating.
Discovery Media - Log in to find images, video and more. If you need a username/password, email Ms. Reeves.
WorldImages - 75,000 images that teachers and student can use in academic projects. All images can be used under a Creative Common license that requires you to give proper attribution when necessary.
American Memory Project, Library of Congress - "a digital record of American history and creativity"
The Library of Congress: Digital Collections - Print, pictorial and audio-visual collections
Library of Congress Prints and Photograph Collection -- This site offers millions of digital images from the Prints and Photographs Division’s holdings including architecture, design and engineering, among other categories. A motherlode for US historical material, including Civil war photographs, cartoons, advertising, historical buildings, stereographic cards, and baseball cards.
Time LIFE Archive Online Millions of photographs from LIFE Magazine photo archive, 1750s to today
Antique Maps and Atlases - Fine and rare original antique maps, sea charts and atlases
Anatomia - 4,500+ illustrations of human anatomy
Creative Commons - Search for licensed for reuse
Flickr - Search for "no known copyright restrictions" (Use only from home.)
Far and Wide: the Golden Age of Travel Posters - Posters from the Golden Age of travel
Florida Memory Photographic Collection - 154,000+ photographs from the State Archives of Florida
Search the Catalog
Books In The Library
These are just a sample of books that are available in the library. Search the catalog using terms specific to your topic to find more.
The great explorers - 909.7 OAK
Voyages of discovery - 910.09 VOY
Marco Polo's journey to China - 910.4 CHI
The age of exploration - 910.90 FLO
Columbus reaches the new world - 970.01 BOD
Columbus and the Renaissance Explorers - 970.015 HYN
World explorers and discoverers - REF 920.9 WOR (this book may only be used in the library)
Exploration in the Renaissance in Europe-910.9 ELL
Bound for America:the forced migration of Africans to the New World-382 HAS
African Slavery - 382,44 HOY
Useful Databases and Links
Biography In Context 1*
Covers the world's most influential people, merging reference content with periodicals and multimedia, allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, keyword and full text.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference eBooks) 1*
A collection of reference eBooks on a wide variety of topics. Portions of the books can be downloaded onto eReader devices.
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites
Try searching using terms from your assignment and adding : .edu so that you'll get better, more appropriate results.