This is the "Dance History Project" page of the "Dance History Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dance History Project  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2012 URL: http://immaculateheart.libguides.com/content.php?pid=402561 Print Guide

Dance History Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Copyright Free & Resuable Images

Always observe copyright rules when reusing other's images.

Google's Advanced Image Search Options - Filter search results by usage rights. Click "Search Tools" and use the "Usage Rights" dropdown menu.

Yahoo Images Creative Commons - Select filters to refine search results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. After searching, click the gray arrow icon in the top left of the page and select "Labeled for Reuse" near the bottom of the menu.

MorgueFile - Photo collection that contains thousands of images that anyone can use for free in academic or commercial presentations. Searchable by subject category, image size, color, or rating. 

Discovery Media - Log in to find images, video and more. If you need a username/password, email Ms. Reeves.

Pics4Learning

WorldImages - 75,000 images that teachers and student can use in academic projects. All images can be used under a Creative Common license that requires you to give proper attribution when necessary. 

Library of CongressAmerican Memory Project, Library of Congress - "a digital record of American history and creativity"

The Library of Congress: Digital Collections - Print, pictorial and audio-visual collections

Library of Congress Prints and Photograph Collection -- This site offers millions of digital images from the Prints and Photographs Division’s holdings including architecture, design and engineering, among other categories. A motherlode for US historical material, including Civil war photographs, cartoons, advertising, historical buildings, stereographic cards, and baseball cards.

Time LIFE Archive Online Millions of photographs from LIFE Magazine photo archive, 1750s to today

Antique Maps and Atlases - Fine and rare original antique maps, sea charts and atlases

Anatomia - 4,500+ illustrations of human anatomy

Creative Commons - Search for licensed for reuse

Flickr - Search for "no known copyright restrictions" (Use only from home.)

Far and Wide: the Golden Age of Travel Posters - Posters from the Golden Age of travel

Florida Memory Photographic Collection - 154,000+ photographs from the State Archives of Florida

     

    Search the Catalog

     

     Enter a word or phrase

    Title  Author  Subject  Keyword   
     
     

    Books In The Library

    These are just a sample of books available. Search for your topic in the catalog to find any additional books availabe.

    • Biographical dictionary of dance -REF 793.3092 COH
    • Martha Graham : a dancer's life -B GRA
    • Martha Graham in performance -DVD 792.8 GRA
    • No fixed points : dance in the twentieth century -792.8 REY
    • Prime movers : the makers of modern dance in America -793.3 MAZ
    • Prime movers : the makers of modern dance in America -793.3 MAZ

    Useful Databases and Links

    The following links should serve as starting places for your project and be examples of the type of information you should be looking for.

    Los Angeles Public Library Databases-You will need your library card to access these- if you do not have one talk to Tracie.
     
    Biography In Context 1*
    Covers the world's most influential people, merging reference content with periodicals and multimedia, allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, keyword and full text
    Marquis Biographies Online 1*
    Up-to-the-minute biographies of leaders and achievers from around the world in the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment and more. Access to all biographies that have appeared in 24 Marquis Who's Who print titles since 1985, and Who Was Who in America volumes from1607-1985.
    Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale/InfoTrac) 1*
    Collection contains more than 100 full-text magazines and journals providing resources for research in drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
     
    Web Links

    Performing Arts Encyclopedia.  A guide to the performing arts collections and exhibits from the Library of Congress Collection subjects include dance, music, theater and much more.

    Voice of Dance.  Well designed and organized site with video clips, extensive image gallery of modern dance and ballet, current news, directories, newspaper reviews with links to articles. Performance calendars for selected events in 20+ North American and European cities.

    Yahoo Dance Links.  Lists more than 1700 sites in 40+ categories--from ballet and modern to butoh and capo 

     

    Searching

    Try searching using terms from your assignment and adding : .edu so that you'll get better, more appropriate results.


     

    Search EBSCO Host

    Enter your search term
    Limit Your Results
     

    Search e-Library


     

    Britannica

    BritannicaUse Britannica to find maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Ask your teacher for the username and password.

     

    JSTOR

    jstorMore than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. Good for research pre-1923.

    © 2014 Immaculate Heart High School & Middle School Library. ● All rights reserved. ● Email: library@immaculateheart.org ● Website: www.immaculateheart.org/library
    UA-28946583-1
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip