Graphic Arts Movement Report Requirements (log in with your Google Acct)
5 page minimum in MLA format
Works cited page (additional, doesn’t count towards the 5 page requirement).
Must be in a clear plastic report folder and formatted in an interesting way - related to your topic!
Final draft due January 11.
Books from our Collection
These books may prove helpful in completing your project. Please ask a library staff member for assistance in finding them.
- History of Graphic Design
- Timeline of Art History: The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world
- Basics of Graphic Design
- Four Design Essentials
- Graphic Design Principles: set of articles on subjects such as web design, graphic design, digital photography, and design colors
- Absolutearts.com Artists, Art Movements, Biographies, Artwork
- Modern and Contemporary Artists The major modern & contemporary visual artists. Sculpture, painting, installation, print, performance, photography, collage and multimedia and digital artists. Artists by technique, art style and art movement, exhibition, biennial, and art prize. Famous, established and emerging artists since 1900.
- Intro to Elements of Design - Choose "Principles of Design" from the left menu.
- The Advertising Archive - vast selection of old adverts, nostalgic illustrations, classic posters and vintage magazines
- Design Feast - Design Feast is for students, professionals, educators and the design-curious—delivering relevant and diverse design content, creative voices and projects.
Copyright Free & Resuable Images
Always observe copyright rules when reusing other's images.
Google's Advanced Image Search Options - Filter search results by usage rights. Click "Search Tools" and use the "Usage Rights" dropdown menu.
Yahoo Images Creative Commons - Select filters to refine search results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. After searching, click the gray arrow icon in the top left of the page and select "Labeled for Reuse" near the bottom of the menu.
MorgueFile - Photo collection that contains thousands of images that anyone can use for free in academic or commercial presentations. Searchable by subject category, image size, color, or rating.
Discovery Media - Log in to find images, video and more. If you need a username/password, email Ms. Reeves.
WorldImages - 75,000 images that teachers and student can use in academic projects. All images can be used under a Creative Common license that requires you to give proper attribution when necessary.
American Memory Project, Library of Congress - "a digital record of American history and creativity"
The Library of Congress: Digital Collections - Print, pictorial and audio-visual collections
Library of Congress Prints and Photograph Collection -- This site offers millions of digital images from the Prints and Photographs Division’s holdings including architecture, design and engineering, among other categories. A motherlode for US historical material, including Civil war photographs, cartoons, advertising, historical buildings, stereographic cards, and baseball cards.
Time LIFE Archive Online Millions of photographs from LIFE Magazine photo archive, 1750s to today
Antique Maps and Atlases - Fine and rare original antique maps, sea charts and atlases
Anatomia - 4,500+ illustrations of human anatomy
Creative Commons - Search for licensed for reuse
Flickr - Search for "no known copyright restrictions" (Use only from home.)
Far and Wide: the Golden Age of Travel Posters - Posters from the Golden Age of travel
Florida Memory Photographic Collection - 154,000+ photographs from the State Archives of Florida
Try searching using terms from your assignment and adding : .edu so that you'll get better, more appropriate results.
The username/password have been emailed to you. Please see Tracie if you didn't receive this information.
Britannica Image Quest contains more than two million images from over 50 of the best collections in the world
Search EBSCO Host
Los Angeles Public Library Databases
Los Angeles Public Library databases
These resources are available only with an ecard or your public library card.
Art Full Text (Wilson) 1*
Citations to articles, reproductions, and book reviews in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published worldwide. Covers archeology, architecture, film, photography, etc. 1984 - present.
Art Index Retrospective (Wilson) 1*
Citations to articles, reproductions, and book reviews in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published worldwide. Covers archeology, architecture, film, photography, etc. 1929-1984.
Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale/InfoTrac) 1*
Collection contains more than 100 full-text magazines and journals providing resources for research in drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Oxford Art Online 1*
Access gateway to art reference content that includes Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms on all aspects of the visual arts.