This is the "Jane Austen Survival Guide" page of the "Survival Guide to Jane Austen's World" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Survival Guide to Jane Austen's World   Tags: janeausten  

Ms. Ellis' Class project
Last Updated: Jan 8, 2014 URL: http://immaculateheart.libguides.com/janeausten Print Guide

Jane Austen Survival Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Catalog

 

 Enter a word or phrase

Title  Author  Subject  Keyword   
 
 

Books From Our Library

The following books will be placed on reserve for the duration of this assignment. You may use them in the library but may not check them out. Please ask one of the library staff for assistance.

  • What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew; from fox hunting to Whist-the facts of daily life in Nineteenth Century England
  • Not in God's Image: Women in History from the Greeks to the Victorians
  • Larousse: Encyclopedia of Modern History from 1500 to Present Day
  • The 1800s Headlines in History
  • Life in Victorian England
  • The Encylopedia of the Victorian World: a Reader's Companion to the People, Places, Events, and Everyday Life of the Victorian Era 
  • Life in Charles Dickens's England
  • Jane Austen's World : the Life and Times of England's Most Popular Author
  • Daily Life in Victorian England
  • Victorian Childhoods
  • Health, Medicine,  and Society in Victorian England

Useful Databases and Links

The following links should serve as starting places for your project and be examples of the type of information you should be looking for.

Los Angeles Public Library Databases
These databases are accessible online with either a library card or an e-card.Residents of the City of Los Angeles can get an e-Card by registering online. An e-Card provides access to online databases and downloadable e-media.  NOTE: the following 3 sites require an e-Card to access the material.

Greenwood Daily Life Online Through History 1*Browse daily life in the ancient world, medieval world, 15th and 16 centuries, 17th and 18th centuries, 19th century, and modern world and find out what it was like.

History In Context: World (Gale) 1*Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
 
World Book Encyclopedia 1*Offers information on a range of topics. 

Web Links

Regency/Romantic Era

Regency/Romantic Info

Google Advanced Search (.edu)

      
     

    Searching

    Try searching using terms from your assignment and adding : .edu so that you'll get better, more appropriate results.


     

    Search EBSCO Host

    Enter your search term
    Limit Your Results
     

    Search e-Library


     

    Discovery Education Media

    Discovery EducationIf you do not have a login account for Discovery Education and would like one, please let Mrs. Sterling or Tracie know.

    Discovery Education

     

    Britannica

    BritannicaUse Britannica to find maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Ask your teacher for the username and password.

    © 2014 Immaculate Heart High School & Middle School Library. ● All rights reserved. ● Email: library@immaculateheart.org ● Website: www.immaculateheart.org/library
    UA-28946583-1
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip