This is the "Monsters in Literature" page of the "Monsters in Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Monsters in Literature  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2015 URL: http://immaculateheart.libguides.com/monsters Print Guide

Monsters in Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

                                 

     

    Copyright Free & Resuable Images

    Always observe copyright rules when reusing other's images.

    Google's Advanced Image Search Options - Filter search results by usage rights. Click "Search Tools" and use the "Usage Rights" dropdown menu.

    Yahoo Images Creative Commons - Select filters to refine search results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. After searching, click the gray arrow icon in the top left of the page and select "Labeled for Reuse" near the bottom of the menu.

    MorgueFile - Photo collection that contains thousands of images that anyone can use for free in academic or commercial presentations. Searchable by subject category, image size, color, or rating. 

    Discovery Media - Log in to find images, video and more. If you need a username/password, email Ms. Reeves.

    Pics4Learning

    WorldImages - 75,000 images that teachers and student can use in academic projects. All images can be used under a Creative Common license that requires you to give proper attribution when necessary. 

    Library of CongressAmerican Memory Project, Library of Congress - "a digital record of American history and creativity"

    The Library of Congress: Digital Collections - Print, pictorial and audio-visual collections

    Library of Congress Prints and Photograph Collection -- This site offers millions of digital images from the Prints and Photographs Division’s holdings including architecture, design and engineering, among other categories. A motherlode for US historical material, including Civil war photographs, cartoons, advertising, historical buildings, stereographic cards, and baseball cards.

    Time LIFE Archive Online Millions of photographs from LIFE Magazine photo archive, 1750s to today

    Antique Maps and Atlases - Fine and rare original antique maps, sea charts and atlases

    Anatomia - 4,500+ illustrations of human anatomy

    Creative Commons - Search for licensed for reuse

    Flickr - Search for "no known copyright restrictions" (Use only from home.)

    Far and Wide: the Golden Age of Travel Posters - Posters from the Golden Age of travel

    Florida Memory Photographic Collection - 154,000+ photographs from the State Archives of Florida

       

      Search the Catalog

       

       Enter a word or phrase

      Title  Author  Subject  Keyword   
       
       

      Books In The Library

      These are only a sample of books available in the library.  Theres are many new books that have been added to this section. You can search the catalog for your specific topic.

      Kallen, Stuart A. Aliens. San Diego, CA : ReferencePoint Press, 2011.

      Cohen, Daniel. The greatest monsters in the world. New York : Dodd, Mead, [1975].

      Hirschmann, Kris. Demons. San Diego, CA : ReferencePoint Press, 2011.

      Evslin, Bernard, et al. Heroes, gods and monsters of the Greek myths. New York : Bantam Books, c1966.

      Magical beasts (The Enchanted world).

      Currie, Stephen. Goblins. San Diego, CA : ReferencePoint Press, 2011.

      McNab, Chris, et al. Mythical monsters : the scariest creatures from legends, books, and movies. New York, NY : Scholastic, c2006.

      Steiger, Brad. The werewolf book : the encyclopedia of shape-shifting beings. Detroit : Visible Ink Press, c1999. 

      Zombies, vampires, and philosophy : new life for the undead. Chicago, Ill. : Open Court, c2010.

      Baring-Gould, Sabine. The Book of Werewolves. Scotts Vallle, CA : IAP, 2009.

      Dresser, Norine. American vampires fans, victims, practitioners. NY : W.W. Norton, 1989.

      Krensky, Stephen. The bogeyman. Minneapolis : Lerner Publications, c2008. <http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip077/2006101867.html>

      Woog, Adam. Zombies. San Diego, CA : ReferencePoint Press, 2011.

      Frost, Brian J. The Essential guide to werewolf literature. Madison : University of Wisconsin Press, c2003. 

      Bioethics in Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Detroit : Greenhaven Press, c2011.

      Mythical and fabulous creatures : a source book and research guide. New York : Greenwood Press, 1987.

      Hirschmann, Kris. Demons. San Diego, CA : ReferencePoint Press, 2011.

      Witch-Hunt Mysteries of the Salem witch trials   Call #: 133.4 ARO    Aronson, Marc          

      The Devil in Massachusetts, a modern inquiry into the Salem witch trials.   Call #: 133.4 STA    Starkey, Marion Lena.         

      The Salem witch trials    Call #: 363.744 KAL    Kallen, Stuart A., 1955-         

      Wizards and witches       Call #: 398.2 LEH    Lehane, Brendan.       

      The Crucible   Call #: 812.52 MIL    Miller, Arthur

      The witchcraft of Salem village    Call #: 974.4 JAC    Jackson, Shirley, 1919-1965.

       

       

       

      Monsters Filmographies

      Here you will find lists of movies pertaining to the monsters from your project. Scroll down until you find the monster you are researching.

                    

                                                      Monsters in Films

       

      Useful Databases and Links

      The following links should serve as starting places for your project and be examples of the type of information you should be looking for.
      Databases
       
      Library Databases
      EbscoHost
      ELibrary
      Britanica Online
       
       
       
       
      Los Angeles Public Library
      A library card provides access to online databases and downloadable e-media. 
       
      Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference eBooks) 1*
      A collection of reference eBooks on a wide variety of topics. Portions of the books can be downloaded onto eReader devices
      Lit Finder 1*
      Access to thousands of full-text poems, stories, essays, plays and speeches.
      Literature Resource Center 1*
      Broad range of subject content containing criticisms, biographies, primary sources, reviews, and multimedia on writers and works around the world. 
       
       
      Web Links

       

       

      Searching

      Try searching using terms from your assignment and adding : .edu so that you'll get better, more appropriate results.


       


       

      Search EBSCO Host

      Enter your search term
      Limit Your Results
       

      Search e-Library


       

      Britannica

      BritannicaUse Britannica to find maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Ask your teacher for the username and password.

       

      JSTOR

      jstorMore than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. Good for research pre-1923.

      © 2014 Immaculate Heart High School & Middle School Library. ● All rights reserved. ● Email: library@immaculateheart.org ● Website: www.immaculateheart.org/library
      UA-28946583-1
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip